top of page

Macro World with Fujifilm X-E1 and Adapted Lens

The past couple of days I was doing a lot of macro shooting and it really crossed my eyes as I used both the adapted lens and Fujinon

All in I have 3 lens:

Sigma 70-200mm f/2.8 Macro Sigma 70-300mm f/4-5.6 Macro APO Fujinon XF 18-55mm f/2.8-4 – the X-E1 ‘kit’ lens.

I have shot both flowers and insects and generally I am very pleased with the results.

For the flower shots, I have used the Sigmas with natural lighting within the flower dome of Gardens by the Bay. Sufficient light to fill up the flowers and the EVF allowed minuscule focus adjustments.  I would say it is much better the the X-Pro1’s EVF so much so it is not that tough to focus manually.

Some shots with the Sigma 70-300mm f/4-5.6 Macro APO :

The following are shot with the much more expensive Sigma 70-200mm F2.8 APO DG Macro on the second day of shoot.

After 2 days of flower shooting with manual focusing, my eyes starts to tire. When there was a macro insect photowalk into the jungles of Lower Pierce Reservoir, I decided perhaps it is time to allow some auto-focusing too so I brought along the Fujinon XF kit lens. It is also a time for me to really test out the Raynox 250 that I have been hearing about for the longest time. After some practice I’ve got the hang of it and the auto-focus surprisingly worked really well with the Raynox! I put up a LED Panel instead of the flash so that I can get some direct light on the insects. Am really happy with the results.

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page